My Top 5 Christmas Movies

xmasmovies.png

With today’s blog post, I thought I’d share my Top 5 Christmas movies. I am a serious film watcher and one of my favourite parts of the festive period is the excuse it gives you to lounge on the couch whilst getting in as many movies throughout the day!

These are my top 5, sitting by the fire, chocolate scoffing worthy festive films.

5. The Grinch

Is it ever really Christmas without a Dr.Seuss story ? I think not. This live-action film from 2000 is the well known tale of the green, grouchy, creature with a heart “two sizes too small” living among the merry and friendly Whosville villagers, who eventually help him to see the true meaning of Christmas. It’s both a comical and in the end, affectionate story that needs to be watched over the holidays.

4. Home Alone

Probably a favourite for most people, you can’t go wrong with this classic. Home Alone is a movie that everyone can remember from their childhood and it’s impossible to kick off the festivities without it!

3. The Santa Clause

After the previous Santa Claus suffers an unfortunate accident, Scott Calvin (Tim Allen) reluctantly becomes the new Santa. As the movie unravels we get treated to delightful scenes of The North Pole and a heart warming storyline of a Dad’s strained relationship with his son blossom as The Santa Clause process enforces a deep bond. I just remember watching this as a child each year and adoring it, it’s probably part of the reason I still find it so magical.

2. The Muppet Christmas Carol

This came as a pretty close call to my no.1, and why wouldn’t it? No matter what generation, we all grew up with The Muppets. It still follows and unfolds the tale of Scrooge, but in a more magical, song filled way that only the Muppets can do. It’ll make you laugh and even cry, but it’s a wonderful hour and a half of pure Christmas nostalgia. Watch it on your own or share with a new generation.

1. Elf 

The best way to spread Christmas cheer, is singing loud for all to hear.

Will Ferrell is bloody hilarious as usual, portraying the role of Buddy the elf, who upon finding out is in fact adopted and not a real elf goes in search of his birth father in New York. For me, Christmas is NOT Christmas without the antics of Buddy The Elf, released when I was just 7 years old it’s one movie I have a major soft spot for. I have watched it countless times over the years and still love it’s wackiness to this day. It will forever be my go-to Christmas movie.

teaandlights.gif

I hope you all have a peaceful and movie filled Christmas.

Until next time,

Weesi. X

Leave a Reply

