Bookish Wishlist | January 2017

I am the ultimate bookworm. I read books, think about books and blog about books. However, I have yet to talk about the books I want or hope to pick up next.

So, here’s my current bookish wishlist!

(I must add that this is purely for fun and is a list I will compile to keep track of the books I am good enough to buy and reward myself with when finished my ridiculously massive TBR shelf.)

Perhaps this post will help you find new books to read or maybe there’s a book I’m missing out on? Feel free to let me know as I am more than welcoming to bookish suggestions!

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

holdinguptheuniverse.jpg

Holding Up The Universe has been top of my reading list for a while now AND I cannot wait to get my hands on it. I first became aware of Jennifer Niven through ‘All The Bright Places’ a book I will truly love forever and highly recommend reading. However, from what I currently know, I believe this book to be a story of two young people both dealing with very different life situations and both having to deal with an image others have of them and what society deem them to be, all the while, eventually striking up a relationship and coming to understand just how important a friendly ear can be in a trying time of need. It’s one I am certainly looking forward to reading.

 

Sick In The Head by Judd Apatow

sickinthehead

“Before becoming one of the most successful filmmakers in Hollywood, Judd Apatow was the original comedy nerd. At fifteen, he took a job washing dishes in a local comedy club just so he could watch stand-up for free. At sixteen,he was hosting a show for his local high school radio station that consisted of Q&As with his comedy heroes.” 

Being the self confessed comedy nerd I am, I love the idea of sitting down with your comedy heroes and asking them the questions you’ve always wanted to hear them answer. I am sure this book will be an absolute delight.

 

Ctrl, Alt Delete: How I Grew Up Online by Emma Gannon

1455799841ctrl-alt-delete-cover

Okay, Emma Gannon is one of my all time favourite online personas, I’m already an avid listener of her podcast and I NEED this book.

Being one of the original social networkers in an era of MSN, chat rooms and Internet ettiequte gone wrong, Emma treats us to a tell all tale of the Internet world gone by and how she went on to to make a successful career online. I feel this one is for anyone who essentially grew up online and can appreciate the trials and tribulations of the connected world we’ve come to accept as part of our daily lives.

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

thissongwillsaveyourlife

With a fish out of water plot, this young adult novel revolves around Elise Dembowski, a girl who had become accustomed to being an outsider and dreams of fitting in at her new school. Just as her best attempts fail, Elise stumbles upon a secret warehouse party where she comes across her new found passion of DJing. There at night, she can be a different person, the one she’s always dreamed of. But, when her real and secret lives collide, she has to make a decision once and for all. To me, this novel sounds like a pretty enjoyable read and I for one, can’t wait find out just how kick ass and awesome this girl is.

What’s on your bookish wishlist? Are the books I should have added to mine? Please, let me know in the comments below. 🙂

Elsewhere, you can find me at Goodreads, Twitter and Instagram. X

Leave a Reply

